The One

When you blew the horn at a pedestrian, a driver, or a person riding a bicycle
You blew it at me first and I am hurt the most
Because I’m one of them

When you ignored someone who was begging for alms or asking for help
You ignored me first and I am hurt the most
Because I’m one of them

When you frowned at someone for his seeming indifference or folly
You frowned at me first and I am hurt the most
Because I’m one of them

When you yelled at someone for his honest mistake
You yelled at me first and I am hurt the most
Because I’m one of them

When you cheated someone materially, emotionally, or intellectually
You cheated me first and I am hurt the most
Because I’m one of them

When you failed someone for breaking a promise or neglecting your responsibility
You failed me first and I am hurt the most
Because I’m one of them

When you cursed someone for his error, annoyance, or disapproval
You cursed me first and I am hurt the most
Because I’m one of them

When you lied to someone
You lied to me first and I am hurt the most
Because I’m one of them

When you hurt a stranger, someone you know, or a person you love
You hurt me first and I am hurt the most
Because I’m one of them

When you failed to see God in your or others people’s midst
You failed to see me first and I am hurt the most
Because I Am the One

Yours truly,
Jesus Christ

(December 2010)

Leave a Reply

