How to play the game of life

king me!

red: king me!

white: (silence)

red: are you still there? king me!

red: (losing)

white: it’s your turn, (red) i’m thinking, it’s your turn, (red) i’m thinking, it’s your turn, (red) i’m thinking, it’s your turn, (red) i’m thinking

red: good game. play again?

white: no. goodbye! nice try! ouch! ouch! ouch!

is this a sign of OCD?

since i shifted from teaching to custom writing i became fixated with online checkers. i usually play it during break time and it has become my priming activity before doing my task. this habit became worse for i sometimes ended up playing the whole day and then rush my task in the night just to meet the deadline… ouch! i never get bored because having opponents of different nationalities entices me to win over and over. i challenge myself by choosing expert opponents rather than waste my time with innocent amateurs (i was too confident but i actually had difficult times beating them in the first months of trial). i found out that polish and korean players are the toughest so i didn’t stop trying until i was able to learn efficient tactics and skills to defeat them. the sad thing is i still keep on playing even if was able to achieve my goal. this is because there are different players everyday and the challenge is unpredictable. i don’t assume that i am better than any nationality for it has to be proven in the game. so i’m playing checkers as long as there are players in the net because this is my way of unwinding and reminding myself of the realizations in life:

c – hallenge

skilled players always challenge me to be better than them.

the harder it takes to attain one’s goal the harder one should countermeasure challenges in order to succeed.

h – umility

i couldn’t avoid saying “king me!” “ouch!” “uh oh” “nice try” when i see the possibility of winning but i sometimes eat my words.

never underestimate an opponent until you’re sure that you’ll win the game. however, it is better to remain humble even though you can win every game.

e – motion

i often feel exhausted when i lose a game and it affects my job performance to te extent of not liking to start working unless i can also beat the player who defeated me.

some people couldn’t function effectively when they have negative emotions (experiencing failures being in distress), while others take them as motivation to do better or make up for what has lost. isn’t it better to belong to the latter type?

c – care and critical thinking

most of my defeats is due to carelessness. so i quickly leave without finishing the game but it makes my opponent mad and would never want another match. be careful in engaging into an activity if you are not prepared for the consequences or if you are not ready to do it. once you’re trapped, you should think critically to avoid an unwanted outcome.

k – ing

i had to sacrifice other discs in order to reach the farthest row (to become “king”)

one could never reach the peak of something without the help of others or one can never succeed without sacrificing anything.

e – asy

success, like victory in playing checkers, is easy to achieve only if you empower or put emphasis to the essential e’s in life: education, energy through exercise and healthy eating, efficiency, eagerness to excel, eliminating evil & egoism, equality, etc.

r – evenge

when players try to provoke me i have the tendency to take revenge, but i learned that it doesn’t make me happy at all. perhaps the best thing to do when people hurt you is to forgive and ignore them so they can realize the difficulty of living in solitude as their prize for inflicting pain to others.

s – ecurity

i ensure the safety of my home row by leaving two discs untouched (on 3rd and 7th squares) to make it difficult for my opponent to reach it and lose control in the game. so i try my best to effectively utilize the other discs to reach the last row and/or capture my opponent’s discs as much as i can. securing one’s valued assets can prevent others from exploiting them. that is, if others want to take advantage of these assets. by contrast, let us not forget the value of sharing. one can secure his or his loved ones’ future by trying his best to provide it through other things (i.e., working hard or investing on education can ensure one’s future).

Leave a Reply

